The short answer
For a 15-24 inch tank with app control, Fluval Plant 4.0, 22W; for a 24-30 inch tank on a budget, hygger HG978, 22W (hygger publishes no PAR); for 35-48 inch tanks with demanding plants, Fluval Plant Pro 4.0 120.
Our verdict
Our Top Picks at a Glance
Eight LED lights sold for planted tanks, with each maker’s PAR where published, fit and cautions. We have not tested them. Our guide to aquarium plants for beginners covers which plants to start with.
Compare the picks
Compare the 8 planted aquarium lights
PAR is each maker’s figure, with its source (“Not published”: none on its pages or manual); no maker states the unit, height above the water, or center versus edge.
8 of 8 planted aquarium lights
| Planted aquarium light | Suited to | Fits | PAR (maker) | Price | Specs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Fluval Plant 4.0, 22WApp control, 15-24 in | App controlSmall tanks | 15-24 in | 110 at 12 in depth (Fluval US page) | Check current price | |
No independent test; specs are the maker's. | |||||
hygger HG978, 22W24/7 cycle, 24-30 in | 24/7 cycleMedium tanks | 24-30 in | Not published | Check current price | |
No independent test; owner reports. | |||||
Marineland Advanced LED, 18-24 inLow-intensity plants | Low-intensity plants | 18-24 in | 216 at 12 in, air or water not stated (Marineland) | Check current price | |
No independent test; specs are the maker's. | |||||
hygger HG178, 32WSun and moon timer, 30-36 in | Day and moon timer | 30-36 in | Not published | Check current price | |
No independent test; specs are the maker's. | |||||
AQQA AQ213, 30WSix timer lengths, 32-40 in | TimerLong tanks | 32-40 in | Not published | Check current price | |
No independent test; owner reports. | |||||
Fluval Plant 4.0, 46WLarger sibling of #1 | App controlLarge tanks | 35-49 in | 130 at 12 in depth (Fluval US page) | Check current price | |
No independent test; specs are the maker's. | |||||
Fluval Plant Pro 4.0 120Higher light, 35-48 in | Higher lightLarge tanks | 35-48.25 in | 290 at 12 in depth (Fluval US page) | Check current price | |
No independent test; specs are the maker's. | |||||
Fluval Plant 4.0 NanoNano tanks | NanoRimless | 4.5-8 in | 125 at 12 in depth (Fluval US page) | Check current price | |
No independent test; specs are the maker's. | |||||
Reading a Planted Light’s Specs
PAR needs its depth. Fluval’s own answer to whether PAR matters includes: “Spectrum is the single most important parameter when considering lighting: color temperature and light intensity are secondary factors. To make PAR more relevant, inquire what PAR value the plant was grown under, and match that value in your aquarium.” Compare figures only at the same depth.
If fish look unwell, test the water and contact an aquatic veterinarian.
How We Chose These Lights
How this guide was built
built from manufacturer pages and manuals and from owner reviews of the linked Amazon listings; we have not tested these products ourselves. Amazon review text was readable to us only for the hygger HG978 and AQQA listings.
Our planted light criteria
Our lighting criteria, value last:
- PAR at depth, where published.
- Spectrum for the stated use.
- Fit for low-tech vs high-tech planted tanks: maker’s words only.
- Timer and controls, including power-cut behavior.
- Fit and mounting: tank size range and cover or frame limits.
- Warranty.
- Value: from the live Amazon price in each box.
Sellers
Sellers
Amazon.com sold picks 1, 3, 6, 7 and 8 on November 6. Four are Fluval: it publishes PAR and Amazon.com sells its lights. Picks 2 and 4 are sold by usmagob and Jnkany, both named on hygger’s authorized store list. Pick 5: AQQA’s own product page links this listing; the Amazon seller’s name, “Aqqa”, matches the brand, and we could not confirm the seller’s identity beyond that name.
Detailed Reviews: The 8 Planted Aquarium Lights
Fluval Plant 4.0, 22W, App control, 15-24 in
Keepers of a 15- to 24-inch planted tank who want app scheduling and the maker's PAR figures to plan by.
$149.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 7, 12:50 UTCVerdict
An app-controlled strip with published PAR at four depths, for 15-24 inch tanks.
Evidence: No independent test; maker specs. Source: Fluval.
Fluval’s page describes “6 unique LED color bands for full spectrum lighting that optimizes plant growth, color and health”. It lists 99 LEDs, 1600 lumens, 7500K and an IP67 rating (the manual still says “DO NOT IMMERSE”), and PAR of 580 at 3 inches of depth, 270 at 6, 110 at 12 and 60 at 18. The app sets “sunrise, mid-day, dusk, and night”. Power-cut behavior: not published. The manual allows glass “between 3 mm and 15 mm”. Warranty: 2 years, plus 2 more if registered online within 30 days, which the manual calls a “LIMITED TIME OFFER”.
Specs (linked: Plant 4.0 LED, 22W, 15-24 in, item 16885)
- 22W; 1600 lm; 7500K; IP67; PAR 110 at 12 in depth (Fluval)
Pros
- PAR published at four depths, per Fluval
- App schedule with sunrise and dusk, plus a manual dimmer (touch switch, per the manual)
Cons
- No plant tier stated by Fluval for this model
Who should buy it
Keepers of a 15- to 24-inch planted tank who want app scheduling and the maker’s PAR figures to plan by.
hygger HG978, 22W, 24/7 cycle, 24-30 in
Keepers of a 24- to 30-inch planted tank who want a timed day cycle without an app.
$48.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 7, 12:50 UTCVerdict
A budget full-spectrum strip that hygger says is “intended for planted aquarium lighting”, with a built-in 24/7 day cycle and no published PAR.
Evidence: No independent test; owner reports. Amazon reviews of this listing: HG978, size not stated.
The manual lists 22 watts and 115 LEDs; hygger’s page gives “1583 lumens” and calls this size “Ideal for tanks up to 18–20 inches deep, supporting high-light aquatic plants”. The 24/7 mode runs “from 6:00 to 22:50 every day”. On power cuts the two disagree: the page says “When the power is off, whether it is 24/7 mode or Time mode, other settings remain unchanged; only the start time changes, and the default operation starts at 6 am”; the manual says “You need to reprogram the light after power off” and “The light is incapable of memory function, the timer restore to 6 o’clock, you have to reset the light.” Warranty: hygger’s warranty page gives “a manufacturer warranty of 3 (2) years from the date of sale if this product was purchased from a hygger®-authorized specialist dealer”, and the product page lists “Extended Warranty 2 Years (ELEC) / 3 Years (NON-ELEC)”. The listing showed 4.5 stars from 3,651 ratings on November 6, pooled across sizes. The listing’s table (18 W, 26 W, 113 light sources) disagrees with hygger’s figures, used here. One reviewer wrote “My plants are thriving. The instructions are somewhat confusing when setting the time”; another that after “7 months … the light died”. Amazon’s review summary counted 89 negative mentions of lifespan against 24 positive.
Specs (linked: HG978, 24-30 in, 22W)
- 22W; 1583 lm; 6500K white plus RGB; PAR not published (hygger)
Pros
- Built-in 24/7 sunrise, daylight and moonlight cycle
Cons
- Lifespan complaints outnumber praise in Amazon’s review summary
- Manual and product page disagree on power-off memory
Who should buy it
Keepers of a 24- to 30-inch planted tank who want a timed day cycle without an app.
Marineland Advanced LED, 18-24 in, Low-intensity plants
Marineland Advanced LED, 18-24 in
Keepers of an 18- to 24-inch covered tank with low-light plants who want a set-and-forget timer.
$107.92 from AmazonAs of Nov 7, 06:47 UTCVerdict
A white-and-blue strip with a preset timer that Marineland sells “For freshwater, saltwater, and low-intensity plants”.
Evidence: No independent test; maker specs. Source: Marineland.
Marineland’s page lists the 18-24 inch size (ML90616) at 28 watts, 8637K, and PAR of 216 at 12 inches and 134 at 24 inches (air or water not stated). Its manual presets the timer (blue LEDs from 9:00 AM, white added 10:00 AM to 8:00 PM, blue only until all LEDs go off at 10:00 PM), and after a power cut “the system will reset to these default settings.” Warranty: one year, per its 2013 manual.
Specs (linked: Advanced LED Strip Light, 18-inch size, 18-24 in, ML90616)
- 28W; 8637K; PAR 216 at 12 in, 134 at 24 in (Marineland); white and blue LEDs
Pros
- Maker states the plant tier: “low-intensity plants”
- Simple preset timer with a blue lunar phase
Cons
- Needs a glass or acrylic cover, per Marineland
- No spectrum control beyond white and blue
Who should buy it
Keepers of an 18- to 24-inch covered tank with low-light plants who want a set-and-forget timer.
hygger HG178, 32W, Sun and moon timer, 30-36 in
Keepers of a 30- to 36-inch planted tank who want day and moonlight on separate timers.
$44.19 from AmazonAs of Nov 7, 12:50 UTCVerdict
A 32-watt full-spectrum strip with separate day and moonlight timers, which hygger lists as “Suitable for planted and freshwater aquariums”.
Evidence: No independent test; maker specs. Source: hygger.
The HG178 manual gives the 32W model 180 LEDs, 1980 lumens, a rendering index of 89 and 6500-10000K, for 30-36 inch tanks. hygger publishes no PAR. Day timer: 6, 10 or 12 hours with sunrise and sunset ramps; moonlight: 3, 5 or 12. After a power cut “the light remembers the preset program, excluding the runtime.” Warranty: the same hygger terms as pick 2 (Jnkany is on hygger’s list).
Specs (linked: HG178, 32W, 30-36 in)
- 32W; 1980 lm; 6500-10000K; PAR not published (hygger)
Pros
- Separate day and moonlight timers that keep their program after a power cut, per hygger
Cons
- No PAR and no plant tier from hygger
Who should buy it
Keepers of a 30- to 36-inch planted tank who want day and moonlight on separate timers.
AQQA AQ213, 30W, Six timer lengths, 32-40 in
Keepers of a 32- to 40-inch planted tank who want a timed light at a budget price.
$55.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 7, 12:07 UTCVerdict
A 30-watt strip that AQQA calls “Ideal for Plants and Freshwater Aquariums”, for 32-40 inch tanks.
Evidence: No independent test; owner reports. Amazon reviews of this listing: AQQA AQ213 line, size not stated.
The AQ213 manual lists 96 LEDs (48 white, 8 each of blue, red and green, 24 RGB) and timer lengths of 3, 6, 8, 10, 12 and 14 hours. Its length figures (“9.8″”, “74cm”) disagree. AQQA’s page gives “IP68 waterproof design protects against moisture and splashes”; the manual gives no IP rating and says “If the light falls into the water, DO NOT touch it. First unplug it, then retrieve it.” The page also gives “Memory function retains settings after power outages”. Warranty: the manual gives “2 years from the date of sale if this product was purchased from an AQQA®-authorised specialist dealer”, and the listing says “Manufacturer warranty for 2 years from date of purchase”. We found no AQQA dealer list saying whether the “Aqqa” store counts. The listing showed 4.4 stars from 69 ratings on November 6; one reviewer wrote “The light is good, but still trying to figure out how to use all the features. To complicate.”
Specs (linked: AQ213, 30W, 32-40 in)
- 30W; 96 LEDs; IP68 (AQQA page; not in the manual); PAR not published
Pros
- Six timer lengths plus a 24/7 mode, per AQQA
Cons
- No PAR, lumen or color temperature published
- Manual’s length figures disagree
Who should buy it
Keepers of a 32- to 40-inch planted tank who want a timed light at a budget price.
Fluval Plant 4.0, 46W, Larger sibling of #1
Keepers of a 35- to 49-inch planted tank who want Fluval's app control without the Plant Pro's output.
$209.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 7, 12:50 UTCVerdict
Pick 1’s series in the 46-watt size, for 35-49 inch tanks.
Evidence: No independent test; maker specs. Source: Fluval.
Fluval lists 252 LEDs, 3650 lumens, 7500K and IP67, with PAR of 700 at 3 inches of depth, 310 at 6, 130 at 12 and 80 at 18 (no mounting height stated). Everything else as pick 1. Fluval’s EU information sheet says the Plant Pro gives “Up to 2X the output of a single Plant 4.0 LED strip light”; at 12 inches Fluval lists 130 for this light and 290 for the Plant Pro 120.
Specs (linked: Plant 4.0 LED, 46W, 35-49 in, item 16887)
- 46W; 3650 lm; 7500K; IP67; PAR 130 at 12 in depth (Fluval)
Pros
- Same app, schedule and published PAR as pick 1, on a 4-foot tank
Cons
- Lower output than the Plant Pro, which Fluval says gives “Up to 2X”
Who should buy it
Keepers of a 35- to 49-inch planted tank who want Fluval’s app control without the Plant Pro’s output.
Fluval Plant Pro 4.0 120, Higher light, 35-48 in
Keepers of a 35- to 48-inch tank with demanding plants who want Fluval's higher-output strip.
$364.59 from AmazonAs of Nov 7, 12:50 UTCVerdict
Fluval’s high-output strip for “demanding planted environments that require higher light levels”.
Evidence: No independent test; maker specs. Source: Fluval.
Fluval’s US page lists 90 watts (120 V / 60 Hz) for 35-48.25 inch tanks, 504 LEDs, 7200 lumens, 7500K, IP67 “with high quality glass lens”, and PAR of 1500 at 3 inches of depth, 660 at 6, 290 at 12 and 170 at 18 (no mounting height stated). It is “Operated exclusively via the FluvalConnect mobile app”; Fluval’s EU information sheet adds “NO MOBILE DEVICE? Manually engage On/Off, Blue Lights & Dimming features.” Fluval says its surface “can be expected to reach temperatures of up to 135°F / 57°C”, and answers “No” to whether owners should be concerned. Power-cut behavior: not published. Warranty: the manual gives “2 YEAR LIMITED WARRANTY”; the EU sheet gives “UP TO 4 YEAR WARRANTY” with online registration. We found no US page statement of the term.
Specs (linked: Plant Pro 4.0 120 LED, 90W, 35-48.25 in, item 16897)
- 90W; 7200 lm; 7500K; IP67; PAR 290 at 12 in depth (Fluval US page)
Pros
- Fluval’s own “higher light levels” tier
- Suspension kit and riser brackets in the box
Cons
- Full control only through the FluvalConnect app
- Surface can reach 135°F, Fluval says
Who should buy it
Keepers of a 35- to 48-inch tank with demanding plants who want Fluval’s higher-output strip.
Fluval Plant 4.0 Nano, Nano tanks
Keepers of a small rimless planted or shrimp tank with glass 3-8 mm thick.
$102.71 from AmazonAs of Nov 7, 12:50 UTCVerdict
A 20-watt square nano light with the Plant 4.0’s app control, for rimless tanks 4.5-8 inches across.
Evidence: No independent test; maker specs. Source: Fluval.
Fluval’s Nano page lists 100 LEDs, 1300 lumens, 7500K and IP67, with PAR of 1300 at 3 inches of depth, 420 at 6, 125 at 12 and 60 at 18 (no mounting height stated). It gives a 4.5-8 inch size range and 6 x 6 inch dimensions; the Amazon listing calls it “5.7 Inches”. The manual says “Not for use on aquariums with top frames” and shows a glass thickness of 3 to 8 mm. Power-cut behavior: not published. Warranty: 2 years, plus 2 with online registration.
Specs (linked: Plant 4.0 LED Nano, 20W, item 16875)
- 20W; 1300 lm; 7500K; IP67; PAR 125 at 12 in depth (Fluval)
Pros
- App control and published PAR in a nano size, per Fluval
Cons
- Not for framed tanks, per Fluval
- Clamp fits glass 3-8 mm only, per Fluval’s manual
Who should buy it
Keepers of a small rimless planted or shrimp tank with glass 3-8 mm thick.
What the Manuals Say About Safety
Read your manual before mounting. These are the makers’ own cautions.
Fluval (picks 1, 6, 7 and 8). The Plant 4.0, Plant 4.0 Nano and Plant Pro manuals: “DANGER – To avoid possible electric shock, special care should be taken since water is employed in the use of aquarium equipment. For each of the following situations, do not attempt repairs yourself; return the appliance to an authorized service facility for service or discard the appliance. A. If the appliance shows any sign of abnormal water leakage, immediately unplug it from the power source. B. Carefully examine the appliance after installation. It should not be plugged in if there is water on parts not intended to be wet. If the appliance or any part of it falls into the water DO NOT reach for it. First unplug the unit before retrieving. C. Do not operate any appliance if it has a damaged cord or plug, or if it is malfunctioning or it is dropped or damaged in any manner. The power cord of this appliance cannot be replaced; if the cord is damaged, the appliance should be discarded. Never cut the cord. D. To avoid the possibility of the appliance plug or receptacle getting wet, position the appliance to one side of a wall mounted receptacle to prevent water from dripping onto the receptacle or plug. A “drip loop” (see illustration) should be arranged by the user for the cord connecting appliance to a receptacle. “The drip loop” is that part of the cord below the level of the receptacle or the connector if an extension cord is used, to prevent water travelling along the cord and coming in contact with the receptacle. If the plug or receptacle does get wet, DO NOT unplug the cord. Disconnect the fuse or circuit breaker that supplies power to the appliance. Then unplug and examine for presence of water in receptacle.” “This appliance is not intended for use by persons (including children) with significantly impaired physical or mental capabilities, unless they have been given supervision or instruction concerning the use of the appliance by a person responsible for their safety. Children should always be supervised to ensure that they do not play with the appliance.” “To avoid injury, do not touch moving parts or hot parts.” “CAUTION – Always unplug or disconnect all appliances in the aquarium from electricity supply before placing hands in water, before putting on or taking off parts and while the equipment is being installed, maintained or handled. Never yank cord to pull plug from outlet. Grasp the plug and pull to disconnect. Always unplug an appliance from an outlet when not in use.” “Do not install or store the appliance where it will be exposed to weather or temperatures below freezing. FOR INDOOR HOUSEHOLD USE ONLY. DO NOT IMMERSE.” “Make sure the appliance is mounted correctly and securely positioned on the aquarium before operating the appliance.” “If an extension cord is necessary, a cord with proper rating should be used. A cord rated for less amperes or watts than the appliance rating may overheat. Care should be taken to arrange the cord so that it will not be tripped over or pulled. The connection should be carried out by a qualified electrical installer.” “The socket-outlet shall be installed near the equipment and shall be easily accessible.” “ATTENTION: Do not stare at the operating light source.” The Plant 4.0 and Plant Pro manuals add: “Use only with AC adapter supplied with this product.” and “LED power supply shall not be positioned on or into the cover frame.” The Plant Pro manual adds: “Do not leave and/or operate the LED strips when resting directly on a flat surface.”
Marineland (pick 3). “DANGER: Since water is employed in the use of aquarium equipment, special care should be taken to avoid electric shock. For each of the following situations, do not attempt to repair the appliance yourself. Return it to an authorized service facility for service, or discard it.” “If the appliance falls into the water, do not reach for it. First unplug it and then retrieve it.” “If electrical components of the appliance get wet, unplug the appliance immediately.” “Close supervision is necessary when any appliance is used by or near children.” “To avoid injury, do not contact moving parts or hot parts such as heaters, reflectors, lamp bulbs, etc.” “Carefully examine the appliance after installation. It should not be plugged in if there is water on parts not intended to get wet.” “Do not operate any appliance if it has a damaged cord or plug, if it is malfunctioning, or if it has been dropped or damaged in any manner.” “To avoid the possibility of water dripping onto the appliance plug or outlet, position aquarium stand and tank to one side of a wall-mounted outlet. A “drip loop” (see illustration) should be arranged for each cord connecting an aquarium appliance to an outlet. The “drip loop” is the part of the cord below the level of the outlet (or extension cord connector) that prevents water from traveling along the cord to the outlet. If the plug or outlet gets wet, do not unplug the cord. Disconnect the fuse or circuit breaker that supplies power to the appliance. Then unplug the appliance and examine the outlet for presence of water.” “Always unplug an appliance from an outlet when it is not in use, before putting on or taking off its parts, and before cleaning it. Never yank cord to pull plug from outlet. Grasp the plug and pull to disconnect.” “If an extension cord is necessary, a cord with a proper rating should be used. A cord rated for fewer amperes or watts than the appliance rating may overheat. Care should be taken to arrange the cord so that it will not be tripped over or pulled.” “Do not use an appliance for other than its intended use. The use of attachments not recommended or sold by the appliance manufacturer may cause an unsafe condition.” “Do not install or store the appliance where it will be exposed to the weather or to temperatures below freezing.” “Make sure the appliance is securely mounted on aquarium before operating it.” “This appliance was designed for use over a glass aquarium cover or acrylic top. DO NOT USE OVER “OPEN” WATER.” On setup: “Push and twist DC Jack clockwise into DC Socket to ensure water resistant connection.” “ALWAYS center light shell over aquarium.” “ALWAYS mount legs on the outside of the aquarium frame.” “ALWAYS use over a clear canopy to prevent damage or blockage of light due to hard water stains on the lenses.” For cleaning: “Refrain from using household cleaners that contain ammonia or bleach when cleaning your light. These can damage the light and may cause problems in your aquarium.”
hygger and AQQA (picks 2, 4 and 5). The HG178 and AQ213 manuals carry the same warning: “To avoid possible electric shock, do not immerse the switch in the water. If the switch falls into the water or becomes wet, do not touch it until you have unplugged it.” “DANGER- To avoid possible electric shock, special care should be taken since water is employed in the use of aquarium equipment. For each of the following situations, do not attempt to repair yourself. Instead, return the light to an authorized service facility for maintenance or discard it.” “If the light falls into the water, DO NOT touch it. First unplug it, then retrieve it. If electrical components of the light get wet, unplug it immediately.” “Carefully examine the light after installation. It should not be plugged in if there is water on parts that are not intended to be wet.” “Do not operate the light if it has a damaged cord or plug, is malfunctioning, dropped, or damaged in any manner. The power cord of this light cannot be replaced. If the cord is damaged, the light should be discarded.” “Close supervision is necessary when the light is used near children.” “To avoid injury, do not contact moving or hot parts.” “Make sure the light is securely installed before operating it.” “Read and observe all the important notices on the light.” “If an extension cord is necessary, a cord with a proper rating should be used, such as rated amperes or watts. A cord rated for fewer amperes or watts than the appliance rating may overheat. Care should be taken to arrange the cord so that it will not be tripped over or pulled.” “The light is intended FOR HOUSEHOLD USE ONLY.” Both give the drip-loop step: “To avoid the possibility of the light plug getting wet, position the aquarium and its stand to one side of a wall mounted outlet to prevent water from dripping onto the outlet or plug. A “drip loop”, shown in the figure below, should be arranged by the user for each cord, which connects the light to the outlet. If an extension cord is used, the “drip loop” is the part of the cord below the level of the outlet or the connector that prevents water from traveling along the cord and coming in contact with the outlet. If the plug or outlet does get wet, DO NOT unplug the cord. Disconnect the fuse to the circuit breaker that supplies power to the light. Then, unplug and examine for the presence of water in the outlet. If you are not sure, consult a certified electrician.” Both say to keep the light “away from flammable items”, that its temperature range is “23°F~113°F (-5°C~45°C)”, and “Please unplug the power and contact the seller if the light is not working properly. OPENING WILL VOID WARRANTY“; hygger adds “Please unplug the power before maintenance.” AQQA adds: “The light should be installed horizontally directly above the aquarium or on a bracket to ensure even distribution of light across the water surface.” “Place the controller in a dry place away from water sources to avoid damage.” “Power off the light before cleaning. Wipe the surface with a dry cloth. Do not rinse with water.” “The light emits high brightness, so the light body may become slightly warm. Tests confirm this does not affect its lifespan.” “If the light will not be used for an extended period, turn it off and unplug it. (Use the original adapter only.)” hygger’s HG978 manual gives the same steps in slightly different words, without the “falls into the water” step, and says “Please keep the switch away from water, the switch is not waterproof.” Its product page adds: “Securely mount the light on the tank rim using the sliding brackets, adjusting the length and angle for even light coverage across the aquascape.” “Position the light at an appropriate height above the water surface to optimize light penetration and shimmer effect without causing excessive heat or algae growth.” “Always unplug the unit before cleaning or adjusting the fixture.” “Avoid exposing the light’s internal components or adapter to water or moisture, even though it has a waterproof rating.” “Ensure proper ventilation around the light fixture to maintain efficient heat dissipation via the aluminum housing and silent cooling fan.” “Do not block airflow around the light to prevent overheating and prolong the device’s lifespan.”
Frequently Asked Questions
Q. What is the best aquarium light for a planted tank?
Match the fixture length to your tank. Only Marineland, Fluval (Plant Pro) and hygger (HG978) state a plant tier; see their reviews.
Q. How many hours a day should a planted tank light run?
hygger’s HG978 page says: “Recommended lighting duration for planted tanks is typically 8 to 10 hours per day, adjusting based on plant species and tank conditions.” Fluval, Marineland and AQQA give no photoperiod in the pages and manuals we read. Their timers differ: Marineland’s preset runs the white LEDs from 10:00 AM to 8:00 PM, hygger offers 6, 10 or 12 hours, and AQQA from 3 to 14 hours.
Q. Can a planted tank light cause algae?
hygger’s HG978 page, on that light’s height, says “without causing excessive heat or algae growth”, and on its brightness: “balance plant health and prevent algae overgrowth”. Fluval’s Plant Pro Q&A mentions algae only as lens deposits: “verify if your lens has any accumulation of deposits (minerals, algae, etc.), which can significantly block light passage. If this is the case, clean the lens on a weekly basis to ensure you are keeping light levels consistent.” Marineland and AQQA do not address algae in what we read. One Amazon reviewer of the HG978 wrote that it “has way more blue diodes than red. You want the reverse for less algae”: one owner’s view, not a maker’s.
The bottom line
Final Verdict
By tank length: Fluval for published PAR and app control, hygger or AQQA for budget day cycles, Marineland for low-intensity plants, the Plant Pro for higher light.
More guides: plant fertilizers, substrate layering, how often to fertilize.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.








