The short answer
For a 5-gallon glass kit that a veterinarian-written guide picked, Marineland Portrait; for a 10-gallon glass tank at a mid-range price, adding your own heater, Tetra Complete LED Kit 10; for 20 gallons with a heater in the box, Tetra Complete LED Kit 20.
Our verdict
Our Top Picks at a Glance
Eight betta tank kits, from 2.5 to 20 gallons, compared on maker pages, Amazon listings, a veterinarian-written guide and owner reports; we have not tested them. On the live Amazon pages we read on November 4, 2026, all eight were sold by Amazon.com. Aqueon’s 10-gallon version of its starter kit was not (another seller, TruAqua Reptiverse, held its buy box at three reads), so we left it out. Kits that ranking lists name, such as the Fluval Spec 5-gallon, Fluval Flex and Aquatop Venti, and the Koller, hygger and NICREW kits we looked at, were not sold by Amazon.com when we checked; Tetra’s 5-gallon Crescent was out of stock.
Betta tank finder
Find a betta tank
Pick a size band and a price tier. The suggestion is our editorial starting point among the eight kits below, not a test result; the sources above differ on the smallest size for a betta.
Compare the picks
Compare the 8 betta tanks
Capacity and tank material (“Size and build”) are in the maker’s or the listing’s words, and “Heater in the box” is the piece of included equipment that six of the eight kits leave out; where maker and listing differ, the review says so.
8 of 8 betta tanks
| Betta tank | Suited to | Size and build | Size and build | Price | Specs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Marineland PortraitTall 5-gallon glass kit | Five gallonsSmall footprint | 5 gal glass | 5 gal glass, tall | Check current price | |
The Spruce Pets (editorial publisher that earns commissions; vet-written, updated 2026-03-16) covered this exact model. | |||||
Aqueon MiniBow 55-gallon acrylic kit | Five gallonsLight tank | 5 gal acrylic | No | Check current price | |
No independent test; owner reports. | |||||
Tetra LED 1010-gallon glass, no heater | Ten gallonsOwn heater | 10 gal glass | No | Check current price | |
No independent test; specs are the maker's. | |||||
Tetra LED 2020-gallon kit with heater | Twenty gallonsHeater included | 20 gal glass | Yes, 100 W (maker) | Check current price | |
No independent test; specs are the maker's. | |||||
Aqueon Starter Kit 2020-gallon kit, preset heater | Twenty gallonsHeater included | 20 gal glass | Yes, preset 50 W (listing) | Check current price | |
No independent test; specs are the maker's. | |||||
Fluval Spec IIISmall etched-glass kit | NanoGlass | 2.6 gal etched glass | No | Check current price | |
The Spruce Pets (editorial publisher that earns commissions; vet-written, updated 2026-03-16) covered the Spec 5-gallon reviewed; 2.6-gallon mentioned; the 2.6 gal we link is not the model they reviewed. | |||||
Tetra Cube 3Low-cost 3-gallon cube | NanoLow cost | 3 gal plastic | No | Check current price | |
No independent test; owner reports cover the 3-gallon Tetra Cube, 2014 (filter then the 3i). | |||||
Aqueon MiniBow 2.52.5-gallon MiniBow | NanoLight tank | 2.5 gal acrylic | No | Check current price | |
No independent test; specs are the maker's. | |||||
How Big a Tank Does a Betta Need? The Sources Differ
There is no single answer, so we give each source’s own figure and set no rule of our own:
| Source | Size it gives | Temperature it gives |
|---|---|---|
| The Spruce Pets (vet-written guide) | “a minimum of 5 gallons” (FAQ); “In some cases, you can use a smaller tank” | 78°F to 82°F |
| PetMD (vet-written care sheet) | “At least 2.5 gallons” | 76–81 F |
| AAGB guidelines (UK, 2016, in Practical Fishkeeping) | 5 litres, “for a single Betta” | around 24-28°C (about 75-82°F, our conversion) |
The Spruce Pets, an editorial publisher that earns commissions, had its list written by aquatic veterinarian Jessie Sanders, DVM. Its FAQ gives “a minimum of 5 gallons”, yet its buying advice says “In some cases, you can use a smaller tank, but the smaller tanks require more hands-on maintenance and are more susceptible to temperature swings”, and it recommends a 2.6-gallon Fluval betta kit itself. PetMD‘s care sheet, by Maria Zayas, DVM, calls “5–10 gallons” ideal in its summary and “10 gallons or larger” ideal in its text. The Anabantoid Association of Great Britain (AAGB), with Dr Peter Burgess, gives “an absolute minimum water volume of 5 litres” (about 1.3 US gallons) “for long-term maintenance”; Practical Fishkeeping’s writer added that he would “personally aim for tanks of 20 litres capacity or so for a single male”.
Five of our eight kits hold 5 gallons or more. The three smaller ones (2.5, 2.6 and 3 gallons) meet PetMD’s and the AAGB’s minimums, fall below The Spruce Pets’ FAQ figure, and sit in the smaller-tank range it says needs more upkeep.
Before You Buy: Heater, Filter Flow, Lid and Shape
Heater. All three sources call for one: PetMD says to “provide a heater” even where a home is “generally in the safe temperature range”, the AAGB asks for one “that is thermostatically regulated”, and The Spruce Pets says “An adjustable heater is preferred”. Only two kits here include one: Tetra’s 20-gallon (100 W, per Tetra) and Aqueon’s 20-gallon (a 50 W heater its listing says is preset to “a constant 78 degrees”). For the other six, our aquarium heater roundup groups heaters by tank size.
Filter flow. PetMD says “Air-driven sponge filters or box filters or very low flow rate filters are ideal for bettas.” The AAGB says to “avoid filters that cause excessive surface-water movement as Bettas are surface-breathing fish from slow-moving waters, and cultivated forms can be weak swimmers.” Of the maker pages and listings we read, only Fluval’s gives a pump output for its kit (46-66 US GPH). Owners of several kits below report strong outflow and baffle it; our guide to reducing filter current for bettas covers the ways to turn it down, and our fish tank filter roundup includes sponge filters.
Lid. PetMD lists a “Lid/cover (bettas can jump)”, the AAGB asks for “a close-fitting cover”, and The Spruce Pets calls a tight-fitting lid “a requirement for any betta tank”. Each of the eight kits comes with a hood, canopy or cover in its maker’s or listing’s list.
Shape, material and rim. Bettas breathe at the surface, so tank height comes up. In an r/bettafish thread on portrait tanks (no model named), one owner wrote “Always go for wider over taller”; another replied “As long as it’s not more than a foot tall it should be fine”. The Spruce Pets prefers glass, which it says is “easier to clean and does not scratch very easily”, while acrylic tanks “are lighter, but not as durable, and prone to scratching”; three kits here are acrylic or plastic. Of the pages we read, only Fluval’s listing describes a rim: “etched glass aquarium with aluminum trim”.
If your betta looks unwell, test the water (our freshwater test kit roundup compares kits) and contact an aquatic veterinarian.
How We Chose These Betta Tanks
How this guide was built
built from manufacturer documentation, published guides and owner reports; we have not tested these products ourselves.
Our tank criteria, in order
A complete kit with a filter, light and lid; capacity of at least 2.5 gallons, PetMD’s minimum; glass, acrylic or plastic as the maker states; whether a heater is in the box; more than one brand; and the seller: Amazon.com on the live Amazon page on November 4.
Where each claim comes from
Where each claim comes from
Specs come from Marineland, Aqueon, Tetra and Fluval product pages and from the Amazon listings; where the two differ, the review says so. The only independent list we used is The Spruce Pets’. Ranking lists from Aquarium Store Depot, a store site with its own shipping and returns pages, and from fishtanksetups.com both claim testing we could not check, so we did not use them. Owner reports come from r/bettafish threads; each is quoted for the model its writer names.
Detailed Reviews: The 8 Betta Tanks
Marineland Portrait, 5 gal, Tall 5-gallon glass kit
Buyers who want 5 gallons of glass on a small desk or shelf.
$109.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 5, 13:06 UTCVerdict
A five-gallon glass kit with hidden three-stage filtration that a veterinarian-written guide picked for viewing.
Evidence: Independently reviewed, exact model. The Spruce Pets (editorial publisher that earns commissions; vet-written, updated 2026-03-16): 5-gallon Portrait Glass LED kit; no test stated.
Marineland lists “3-stage hidden filtration” with a Rite-Size Z cartridge, Bio-Foam and an “adjustable flow filter pump”, white and blue LEDs on a 3-way switch, and “a sliding canopy for easy feeding”. The Spruce Pets calls it “This small, quiet, and sleek 5-gallon aquarium”, but lists “narrow, tall tank limits swimming patterns” among its drawbacks and notes “mixed feedback when it comes to the tank’s noise level.” The listing gives 9.99 x 9.67 x 17.2 inches and The Spruce Pets 11.81 x 11.62 x 17.05; at about 17 inches, either is over the “not more than a foot tall” an owner suggested above, though that owner added “a little extra height isn’t the end of the world”. In a 2017 r/bettafish thread, an owner found the flow “really strong” even “on the least powerful setting”; one reply tied filter foam over the output, and another could not find how to change the setting.
Specs (linked: 5 gal)
- Build: glass, glass canopy (listing)
- Size: 9.99 x 9.67 x 17.2 in (listing); 11.81 x 11.62 x 17.05 in (The Spruce Pets)
- Filter: three-stage, adjustable flow pump (maker)
- Heater: not included
Pros
- Five gallons of glass with the filter hidden from view, per Marineland
Cons
- Tall, narrow shape that The Spruce Pets says limits swimming patterns
- One owner found the flow strong at its lowest setting
Aqueon LED MiniBow, 5 gal, 5-gallon acrylic kit
Verdict
A five-gallon acrylic kit whose listing calls it a “Betta tank”, with a filter Aqueon built for quick water changes.
Evidence: No independent test; owner reports. r/bettafish: 5-gallon MiniBow, generation not stated.
Aqueon lists “a clear acrylic vessel, low-profile LED hood, elevated base” and a SmartClean power filter it says makes water changes “quick, fast and easy to do in less than 2 minutes”. In a 2023 r/bettafish thread on Aqueon’s small kits, an owner of “a 5 gallon Aqueon minibow” suggested “a sponge for the intake tube so it doesn’t suck up anything important”. Another owner of a 5-gallon Aqueon (model not named, possibly an earlier MiniBow) wrote “it has worked well for many years. Mine has a filter with adjustable flow”, adding it is “only suitable for a small betta and a snail”. A third (model and size not stated) said the filter “creates a lot of flow and pushes your betta around”, an owner of a smaller version said it “scratches easily”, and two replies (sizes not stated) called the tank too small for a betta.
Specs (linked: 5 gal, black)
- Build: acrylic, LED hood, elevated base; 15 x 10.67 x 15.44 in (listing)
- Filter: SmartClean power filter, small cartridge (maker)
- Heater: not included
Pros
- SmartClean filter Aqueon says makes water changes take under 2 minutes
Cons
- Acrylic, which one owner of a smaller MiniBow says scratches easily
- Owners in one thread differ on the filter’s flow
Tetra Complete LED Kit, 10 gal, 10-gallon glass, no heater
Buyers who want 10 gallons at a mid-range price and will add a heater.
$76.74 from AmazonAs of Nov 5, 13:06 UTCVerdict
A 10-gallon glass tank with a hinged LED hood and filter at a mid-range price; the heater is yours to add.
Evidence: No independent test; maker specs. Source: Tetra Complete LED Aquarium Kit 10 page.
Tetra lists a 20 x 10 x 12 inch glass tank, a hinged hood with white LEDs and a “Tetra Whisper PF 10 Power Filter”; the Amazon listing instead describes “an internal filter”. Neither Tetra nor the listing names bettas, and neither gives a flow figure. No owner report we found names this kit. If your kit has the PF10, an r/bettafish owner running one on an unnamed 10-gallon said the current “kinda sent him flying”, though the betta “doesn’t appear to be spooked or stressed”. A reply warned that a sponge on the outflow “prevented my water from aerating enough & cause film build up on the water surface”, and used a soap dish under the outflow instead.
Specs (linked: 10 gal)
- Build: glass, hinged LED hood; 20 x 10 x 12 in (maker, listing)
- Filter: Whisper PF 10 power filter (maker); “internal filter” (listing)
- Heater: not included
Pros
- 10 gallons of glass with hood, light and filter in one box
Cons
- No heater in the box
- Maker and listing disagree on which filter is included
Who should buy it
Buyers who want 10 gallons at a mid-range price and will add a heater.
Tetra Complete LED Kit, 20 gal, 20-gallon kit with heater
Buyers with room for a 20-gallon who want the heater included.
$119.14 from AmazonAs of Nov 5, 13:06 UTCVerdict
The 20-gallon sibling of #3 on the same Amazon listing, with a 100 W heater and thermometer added, per Tetra.
Evidence: No independent test; maker specs. Source: Tetra Complete LED Aquarium Kit 20 page.
Tetra lists a 24 x 12 x 16 inch glass tank, a hinged LED hood, a “Tetra Whisper PF 20 Power Filter” and “a 100-watt heater and thermometer”. The listing also includes a heater, thermometer and “attractive decor”, but describes “an internal filter” and gives a different product number (NV33821 against Tetra’s NV84004). Neither names bettas or gives a flow figure. A 20-gallon sits above every minimum quoted here. We found no r/bettafish thread on this kit; Amazon reviews were not graded.
Specs (linked: 20 gal)
- Build: glass, hinged LED hood; 24 x 12 x 16 in (maker, listing)
- Filter: Whisper PF 20 power filter (maker); “internal filter” (listing)
- Heater: 100 W, with thermometer (maker)
Pros
- Heater and thermometer in the box, per Tetra and the listing
Cons
- The largest footprint here, 24 x 12 x 16 inches per Tetra
- Maker and listing differ on the filter and product number
Aqueon Aquarium Starter Kit, 20 gal, 20-gallon kit, preset heater
Buyers who want 20 gallons with Aqueon's quick-change filter in one box.
$188.27 from AmazonAs of Nov 5, 13:06 UTCVerdict
The other 20-gallon kit with a heater, the highest-priced kit here, whose listing names a 50 W heater preset to 78 degrees.
Evidence: No independent test; maker specs. Source: Aqueon Aquarium Starter Kit page and Amazon listing.
The 20-gallon Amazon listing names a “glass aquarium, low profile LED hood, SmartClean internal power filter”, an EcoRenew cartridge, a “submersible preset heater 50W”, a thermometer and a net, and says the heater “keeps your aquarium temperature at a constant 78 degrees, appropriate for most tropical fish”. The listing mixes sizes: one bullet describes “a 10-gallon glass rectangle aquarium”, and it calls the filter “size medium” in one place and “size small” in another. Aqueon’s kit page offers 10 and 20 gallons. Against #4, it trades Tetra’s 100 W heater for a 50 W preset one. PetMD says to “Select a heater that provides about 3–5 watts per gallon”, which is 60-100 W for 20 gallons, so 50 W falls below it. The Spruce Pets prefers “An adjustable heater”, and Aqueon names no adjustment. Neither Aqueon nor the listing names bettas. We found no r/bettafish thread on this kit; Amazon reviews were not graded.
Specs (linked: 20 gal)
- Build: glass, LED hood with feeding door (maker)
- Filter: SmartClean internal power filter; “size medium” and “size small” (listing)
- Heater: 50 W, preset to 78 degrees (listing)
Pros
- Heater and thermometer in the box (50 W; see Cons)
Cons
- A preset 50 W heater, below the 60-100 W that PetMD’s 3–5 watts per gallon gives for 20 gallons
- The listing mixes 10-gallon and 20-gallon details
Who should buy it
Buyers who want 20 gallons with Aqueon’s quick-change filter in one box.
Fluval Spec III, 2.6 gal, Small etched-glass kit
2.6 gal · 2.6 gal etched glass
Buyers short on desk space who want glass under 5 gallons.
$124.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 5, 13:06 UTCVerdict
The smallest glass kit here, with Fluval’s three-stage rear filter; The Spruce Pets warns its outflow “can be a little bit rough”.
Evidence: Independently reviewed, same series. The Spruce Pets (editorial publisher that earns commissions; vet-written, updated 2026-03-16): Spec 5-gallon reviewed; 2.6-gallon mentioned.
Fluval lists a “Glass aquarium with cover”, a “Circulation pump with output nozzle” rated 46-66 US GPH, and foam, carbon and BIOMAX media. Fluval gives 10 x 8 x 11.5 inches; the listing gives 10.8 x 11.8 x 8.7. The Spruce Pets picked the 5-gallon Spec and wrote that “at 2.6 gallons, the filter outflow can be a little bit rough”. In an r/bettafish thread, one owner reported “The switch on the light doesn’t work”; an owner of both Specs wrote that “The spec 3 just feels way too small even though you could probably get by with a betta in it”, though they had “no problems with either”.
Specs (linked: 2.6 gal, white)
- Build: etched glass, aluminum trim (listing); glass with cover (maker)
- Filter: three-stage; pump 46-66 US GPH (maker)
- Heater: not included
Pros
- Etched glass and a three-stage filter in a 2.6-gallon footprint
Cons
- Below The Spruce Pets’ 5-gallon FAQ figure
- Outflow The Spruce Pets calls “a little bit rough” at this size
Tetra LED Cube, 3 gal, Low-cost 3-gallon cube
Verdict
The lowest-priced kit here, a 3-gallon plastic cube that Tetra says suits “one Betta or up to two community tropical fish”.
Evidence: No independent test; owner reports. r/bettafish: 3-gallon Tetra Cube, 2014 (filter then the 3i).
Tetra calls the tank “plastic” and “virtually unbreakable” with “Air powered Whisper three-stage filtration”. The Amazon listing names a “Tetra Whisper Internal Power Filter” and a low-voltage adapter but no air pump, and its title says acrylic. In a 2014 r/bettafish thread, one owner said the included “Tetra 3i filter created too much of a current and my betta did get his dorsal fin sucked up once”; the same owner swapped in a small sponge filter and wrote “I actually really love it”. Another found it hard to refit the cube into its base without spilling. A third cautioned that “anything that small is not very forgiving when it comes to water parameters”, adding that with diligent water changes “it can totally be done”.
Specs (linked: 3 gal)
- Build: plastic (maker); “acrylic” (listing title); pedestal base, canopy with feeding hole (listing)
- Filter: Whisper filter; air-powered (maker), internal power filter (listing)
- Heater: not included
Pros
- Lowest price here, with light, filter and canopy included
Cons
- A 2014 owner found the included filter’s current strong for a betta
- Below The Spruce Pets’ 5-gallon FAQ figure
Aqueon LED MiniBow, 2.5 gal, 2.5-gallon MiniBow
Buyers who want the MiniBow in the smallest betta size PetMD gives.
$59.98 from AmazonAs of Nov 5, 13:06 UTCVerdict
The 2.5-gallon sibling of #2, same acrylic build and SmartClean filter, at the size PetMD gives as its minimum.
Evidence: No independent test; maker specs. Source: Aqueon LED MiniBow page.
It shares #2’s Amazon listing and Aqueon’s kit page: acrylic vessel, LED hood, elevated base and SmartClean power filter. The listing gives 11 x 7.25 x 12 inches. PetMD’s “At least 2.5 gallons” is met, but not The Spruce Pets’ 5-gallon FAQ figure. The owner reports under #2 cover the 5-gallon or a size not stated.
Specs (linked: 2.5 gal, black)
- Build: acrylic, LED hood, elevated base; 11 x 7.25 x 12 in (listing)
- Filter: SmartClean power filter, small cartridge (maker)
- Heater: not included
Pros
- The MiniBow’s SmartClean filter in a smaller footprint
Cons
- Half the water of the 5-gallon MiniBow (#2), and below The Spruce Pets’ FAQ figure
Who should buy it
Buyers who want the MiniBow in the smallest betta size PetMD gives.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q. What kind of tank is best for a betta fish?
The sources agree on a heated, filtered tank with a lid, and differ on size: 5 gallons in The Spruce Pets’ FAQ (with smaller tanks “in some cases”), at least 2.5 gallons for PetMD, 5 litres for the AAGB. PetMD names gentle filters (“very low flow rate”); the AAGB says to avoid “excessive surface-water movement”.
Q. Is a 5-gallon tank enough for a betta fish?
It meets all three sources’ minimums. PetMD calls “5–10 gallons” ideal in its summary and “10 gallons or larger” in its text, and The Spruce Pets says “A 5-gallon tank is ideal for most betta fish”.
Q. Do bettas prefer long or tall tanks?
No source we read measured it. Owners in an r/bettafish thread split between “wider over taller” and “not more than a foot tall”, and The Spruce Pets says the Marineland Portrait’s tall shape “limits swimming patterns”.
Q. What water is best to use in a betta tank?
The AAGB calls for “dechlorinated tapwater” in regular partial water changes. Our guide to the best water for a fish tank compares tap, RO, distilled and bottled water, and our water conditioner roundup compares dechlorinators.
The bottom line
Final Verdict
For 5 gallons of glass on a small surface, Marineland Portrait (check price); for 10 gallons of glass at a mid-range price, with your own heater, Tetra Complete LED Kit 10 (check price); for 20 gallons with the heater in the box, Tetra Complete LED Kit 20 (check price).
More guides: once the tank is set up, see our betta food roundup and our heater roundup.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.








