The short answer
For an everyday pellet, Ultra Fresh Shrimp Food, which its maker calls a daily staple; at a low pack price, Fluval Bug Bites Shrimp Formula; for baby shrimp, Aquatic Arts Pollen Granules, which its maker calls “an ideal shrimplet food”.
Our verdict
Our Top Picks at a Glance
Here are nine shrimp foods, compared on maker pages, listings and owner reports; we have not tested them. Keeping snails too? See our snail food guide and what aquarium snails eat.
Each pick is sold by Amazon.com or the brand’s own Amazon storefront, at or below the maker’s shop price where one is published; Ultra Fresh has no published maker price, and its product page’s Where-to-buy link is this listing. Hikari Shrimp Cuisine, GlasGarten (Bacter AE, Shrimp Dinner) and Shrimp King did not pass (third-party sellers), nor did Sera (no US maker price; its storefront charges more than US retailers).
Shrimp food finder
Find a shrimp food
Pick a job and a pack-price tier; packs run from 1 to 8 oz, so compare sizes too. The suggestion is our editorial starting point, drawn from the nine foods below, not a test result.
Compare the picks
Compare the 9 shrimp foods
“Form”: the maker’s wording for the linked pack, shortened.
Fluval Bug Bites ShrimpInsect-based micro granulesDaily food, freshwater shrimpSlow-sinking granules$4.99 Prime
Evidence: maker specs; no independent test found
Aqueon Omnivore DiscsCaridina discs with clayCaridina, crystal shrimpDiscs with bentonite clay$3.87 Prime
Evidence: one owner whose shrimp preferred fish flakes; size not stated
Aqueon Herbivore DiscsNeocaridina plant discsNeocaridina, cherry shrimpSinking discs$9.58 Prime
Evidence: one owner blamed it for shrimp deaths; cause not established
Zoo Med Shrimp, Crab & LobsterSinking sticks, crustaceansMixed crustaceansSinking sticks$3.99 Prime
Evidence: maker specs; no independent test found
BugGraze BSFL PelletsInsect pellets, calcium listedProtein food, shrimp, snailsInsect pellets$12.99
Evidence: maker specs; no independent test found
Ultra Fresh Shrimp FoodPrawn-based daily pelletDaily food, caridina, neocaridinaSinking pellets$9.49
Evidence: maker specs; no independent test found
KatsAquatics ShrimpsiclesGrazing sticks, five flavorsGrazing, shrimp, snailsFood sticks$12.99
Evidence: maker specs; no independent test found; the maker also sells live animals
Aquatic Arts Pollen GranulesBee pollen for shrimpletsShrimplets, weekly extraGranules that turn to dust$12.99
Evidence: one owner with 12 shrimp in a newer tank; size not stated
Aquatic Arts Algae WafersAlgae wafer, shrimp portionsAlgae wafer, shrimp, snailsSinking wafers$12.99
Evidence: maker specs (shop page and listing differ, see review); the maker also sells live shrimp
Before You Buy: Copper and Water
Sources split on copper. An r/shrimptank owner warns “Some food is labeled for shrimp but contains COPPER, which you may know is poisonous to shrimp”. In an FAQ on its Bug Bites Shrimp page, Fluval says: “Copper is a necessary trace element that should be included in crustaceans’ diets, as it is required in the biological metabolic processes that occur when the animals shed their exoskeletons as they grow.” Aquarium Co-op (a store that sells Hikari Shrimp Cuisine) writes that “many shrimp foods such as Shrimp Cuisine contain trace amounts of copper that are necessary for the shrimp to make blood or hemocyanin”; it names none of our picks. We cannot settle it. The ingredient lists we read show:
- Copper sulfate: Fluval, Zoo Med.
- Copper proteinate: both Aqueon discs (listing), Aquatic Arts Algae Wafers (shop list).
- No copper compound named: BugGraze, Ultra Fresh, Shrimpsicles.
- No ingredient list in the text we read: Pollen Granules.
For water hardness, our test kit roundup includes a GH and KH kit. Food is not a treatment: if shrimp are dying, test the water and contact an aquatic veterinarian.
How We Chose These Shrimp Foods
How this guide was built
compiled from manufacturer documentation, published guides and owner reports; we have not tested these products ourselves.
Our food criteria, in order
Fit for the shrimp each maker names; first ingredients and analysis as listed; leftover-food directions; an amount and frequency from the maker; then pack price. All nine passed our stock and seller check on 2026-11-04.
Where each claim comes from
Where each claim comes from
We found no independent test of any pick; Practical Fishkeeping (a fishkeeping magazine) tested 28 shrimp foods in 2016, none of them these.
Detailed Reviews: The 9 Shrimp Foods
Fluval Bug Bites Shrimp Formula, Insect-based micro granules
1.06 oz · Slow-sinking granules
Buyers who want a low-priced daily granule for dwarf shrimp.
$4.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 06:42 UTCVerdict
Slow-sinking granules Fluval makes for “all freshwater shrimp”.
Evidence: No independent test; maker specs. Source: Fluval product page and Amazon listing.
Fluval’s page (1.05 oz; the listing says 1.06 oz, same model A6931) gives crude protein (min) 32.0% and calcium (min) 1.5%.
Specs (linked: 1.06 oz)
- First ingredients: black soldier fly larvae, salmon, wheat
- Copper: copper sulfate listed
Pros
- Small granules with a published protein and calcium minimum
Cons
- Page and listing differ on how often to feed (see the table below)
Aqueon Omnivore Shrimp Discs, Caridina discs with clay
1.65 oz · Discs with bentonite clay
Budget buyers with crystal, bee or other Caridina shrimp.
$3.87 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 06:42 UTCVerdict
A protein-based disc Aqueon names for crystal and bee shrimp.
Evidence: No independent test; owner reports. r/shrimptank: Aqueon omnivore shrimp discs, size not stated.
Aqueon’s page cites “Higher protein levels” for berried shrimp. An owner in the same r/shrimptank thread says their shrimp “won’t eat anything besides fish flakes” and refused Hikari algae wafers as well as both Aqueon discs.
Specs (linked: 1.65 oz)
- First ingredients: soy protein concentrate, wheat, corn gluten meal (listing)
- Copper: copper proteinate listed
Pros
- Bentonite clay and no added fish meal, per Aqueon
Cons
- No protein percentage in the text we read
Aqueon Herbivore Shrimp Discs, Neocaridina plant discs
Cherry shrimp keepers who want a disc several shrimp can share.
$9.58 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 06:42 UTCVerdict
The herbivore sibling of #2, named for cherry and blueberry shrimp.
Evidence: No independent test; owner reports. r/shrimptank: Aqueon Herbivore Shrimp Food, size not stated.
Aqueon’s page describes “approximately 9mm” sinking discs “so multiple shrimp can feed at a time”. A 2023 r/shrimptank owner wrote that “the shrimp started dying off when I fed it”, stopped, tried it again later and lost more; the post does not say whether the water was tested, and the replies name no cause.
Specs (linked: 1.6 oz)
- First ingredients: dehulled soybean meal, wheat, pea protein (listing)
- Copper: copper proteinate listed
Pros
Cons
- One owner linked shrimp deaths to it (cause not established)
Zoo Med Aquatic Shrimp, Crab & Lobster Food, Sinking sticks, crustaceans
Zoo Med Shrimp, Crab & Lobster
Crab & Lobster Food, 2.5 oz · Sinking sticks
Budget buyers feeding shrimp alongside crabs or lobsters.
$3.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 06:42 UTCVerdict
A sinking stick Zoo Med labels “For ALL types of Aquatic shrimp, crabs, and lobsters”.
Evidence: No independent test; maker specs. Source: Zoo Med product page and Amazon listing.
Zoo Med’s page gives crude protein (min) 35.0%.
Specs (linked: 2.5 oz)
- First ingredients: wheat flour, soybean meal, fish meal
- Copper: copper sulfate listed
Pros
Cons
- No feeding directions in the text we read
BugGraze BSFL Pellets, Insect pellets, calcium listed
Verdict
Single-ingredient black soldier fly larvae pellets for shrimp and snails.
Evidence: No independent test; maker specs. Source: Space Coast Aquatics BugGraze page and Amazon listing.
Space Coast’s shop page lists “100% Black Soldier Fly Larvae (BSFL)”, crude protein (min) 42% and “Calcium: 3.5%”; the listing calls it a “High-Protein Supplement” that “may break down faster than traditional foods”. Space Coast Aquatics, BugGraze’s maker, also sells live snails.
Specs (linked: 3 oz)
- Protein / calcium: 42% min / 3.5% (maker)
- Copper: none listed (single ingredient)
Pros
- One ingredient, with a published protein and calcium figure
Cons
- The shop and listing differ on how often to feed it
Ultra Fresh Shrimp Food, Prawn-based daily pellet
Verdict
Sword-prawn pellets Ultra Fresh calls “An ideal daily staple” for dwarf shrimp.
Evidence: No independent test; maker specs. Source: Ultra Fresh Shrimp Pro page and Amazon listing.
Ultra Fresh’s Shrimp Pro page, whose “Where to buy” link is this listing, gives crude protein minimum 39% and calcium 1.5% minimum.
Specs (linked: 2.04 oz)
- Protein / calcium: 39% min / 1.5% min (maker)
- Copper: none named (listing ends “mineral substances”)
Pros
- A per-pellet portion from the maker (see the table below)
Cons
- The maker’s page and listing give different ingredient lists (both led by sword prawn)
KatsAquatics Shrimpsicles, Grazing sticks, five flavors
Verdict
Ten 6-inch food sticks in five flavors, placed in the gravel and removed afterward.
Evidence: No independent test; maker specs. Source: KatsAquatics shop page and Amazon listing.
KatsAquatics’ shop page says each stick has “over 90% real vegetables, clean protein sources, and essential minerals”. The listing says to “place in the gravel, enjoy the show, remove the stick”.
Specs (linked: 10 sticks)
- Ingredients: greens, black soldier fly larvae, krill, squash, bee pollen, spirulina, by flavor
- Copper: none named
Pros
- Five flavors on sticks placed in the gravel, per the listing
Cons
- No feeding frequency or analysis in the text we read
Aquatic Arts Pollen Granules, Bee pollen for shrimplets
1 oz · Granules that turn to dust
Breeders who want a weekly extra that its maker says reaches baby shrimp.
$12.99 from AmazonAs of Nov 4, 06:42 UTCVerdict
Bee pollen granules Aquatic Arts calls “an ideal shrimplet food”.
Evidence: No independent test; owner reports. r/shrimptank: Aquatic Arts bee pollen, size not stated.
The shop page says the granules “disintegrate into a fine dust that spreads throughout the tank” and recommends feeding “once per week”. One r/shrimptank owner with 12 shrimp in a newer tank says theirs “just ignore it” and guesses they are content with natural food; other owners in that thread say their shrimp take bee pollen (brands mostly unnamed). Shop and listing UPCs differ.
Specs (linked: 1 oz)
- Ingredients and analysis: not given in the text we read
Pros
- Granules its maker says spread as a fine dust baby shrimp can reach
Cons
- Fed once a week alongside other foods, per its maker
Who should buy it
Breeders who want a weekly extra that its maker says reaches baby shrimp.
Aquatic Arts Algae Wafers, Algae wafer, shrimp portions
Verdict
Sinking wafers with a portion per 10 shrimp from their maker.
Evidence: No independent test; maker specs. Source: Aquatic Arts shop page and Amazon listing.
The shop page gives crude protein minimum 30% and says Aquatic Arts feeds the wafers to its animals “as a special treat”. Shop and listing UPCs differ, and the listing text says “6 ounce” where its title says 8 oz; the analysis and ingredients here are the shop page’s.
Specs (linked: 8 oz)
- First ingredients: fish meal, wheat, rice flour (shop)
- Copper: copper proteinate listed (shop)
Pros
Cons
- Shop and listing differ on when to remove leftovers (2 vs 4 hours)
How Much and How Often to Feed Shrimp
Makers’ own directions:
| Food | Maker’s direction (quoted) |
|---|---|
| Fluval Bug Bites Shrimp | “Feed as much food as shrimp can eat in two minutes, once daily.” (page); “two or three times daily” (listing) |
| Aqueon discs | “Feed no more than what the fish can eat within 1 – 2 minutes.” (listing; it says “fish”) |
| Zoo Med | “Directions in package” (listing) |
| BugGraze | “Feed once daily”; “Only provide what shrimp and snails can consume within 2–3 hours” (shop); “Feed 2–3 times per week alongside your regular food” (listing) |
| Ultra Fresh | Feeds per day: 1 time; Per feeding: 8 h, “amount they finish in this time” (maker page); “Feed once a day. One pellet can feed around 10-15 aquarium shrimps.” (listing) |
| Shrimpsicles | “Rehydrate the food by spraying water on it or by placing it in a shallow bowl of water before feeding.” (listing; no frequency) |
| Pollen Granules | “once per week”; “Distribute 4-5 granules at a time for smaller tanks ranging from ten to fifteen gallons, and allow them to dissolve.” (shop; listing: no frequency) |
| Aquatic Arts wafers | “Feed ½ wafer per 6 fish, 10 shrimp, and 10 snails every other day.” “Remove any uneaten food after 2 hours and modify servings as needed.” (shop); “after 4 hours” (listing) |
Practical Fishkeeping’s author writes that softened pellets “can lead to increased water pollution, clogged soil and a boom in the snail population” and suggests “a feeding dish or a Catappa leaf as a dinner plate”. Our guides to high ammonia and snails that appear cover overfeeding.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q. What is the best food to feed shrimp?
Practical Fishkeeping concludes “a varied, balanced diet is the key to success”.
The bottom line
Final Verdict
Everyday, per its maker: Ultra Fresh Shrimp Food (check price); or, at a low pack price, Fluval Bug Bites Shrimp Formula (check price). By shrimp type: Aqueon Omnivore Shrimp Discs (check price) or Aqueon Herbivore Shrimp Discs (check price). Baby shrimp, per its maker: Aquatic Arts Pollen Granules (check price). Shrimp with snails: BugGraze BSFL Pellets (check price), Aquatic Arts Algae Wafers (check price) or KatsAquatics Shrimpsicles (check price). Shrimp with crabs: Zoo Med Aquatic Shrimp, Crab & Lobster Food (check price).
More guides: Food & Feeding.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
